Cambridge University Press 978-1-108-83450-6 — Presidential Elections in Iran Mahmoud Pargoo , Shahram Akbarzadeh Table of Contents <u>More Information</u>

## Contents

Li	st of Figures and Tables	<i>page</i> vii
Li	st of Abbreviations	viii
	Introduction	1
	Two Pictures	1
	The 'Secular'	6
	Why Elections?	6
	Electoral Politics in Iran	9
	Chapter Outline	14
1	Theoretical Framework	17
	Defining Secularisation	17
	Revolutionary Religiosity	23
	Elections: From Anomalies to Pillars of Legitimacy	32
	Conclusion	40
2	The Age of the 'Imam'	41
	Introduction	41
	First Presidential Election, 1980: Abolhassan Banisadr	44
	Second Presidential Election, 1981: Mohammad-Ali Rajai	51
	Third Presidential Election, 1981: Ali Khamenei	57
	Fourth Presidential Election, 1985: Ali Khamenei	62
	Fifth Presidential Election, 1989: Ali-Akbar Hashemi-Rafsanjan	i 66
	Conclusion	71
3	The Era of Reconstruction and Reform	73
	Introduction	73
	Iran after Khomeini	75
	Sixth Presidential Election, 1993: Ali-Akbar Hashemi-Rafsanjan	i 79
	Seventh Presidential Election, 1997: Mohammad Khatami	86
	Eighth Presidential Election, 2001: Mohammad Khatami	100
	Conclusion	104

v

## CAMBRIDGE

Cambridge University Press 978-1-108-83450-6 — Presidential Elections in Iran Mahmoud Pargoo , Shahram Akbarzadeh Table of Contents <u>More Information</u>

vi		Contents
4	Ahmadinejad and Secularisation: Rupture or Continuity? Introduction Ninth Presidential Election, 2005: Mahmoud Ahmadinejad Tenth Presidential Election, 2009: Mahmoud Ahmadinejad Conclusion	106 106 109 126 133
5	Consolidation of Secularity Introduction Eleventh Presidential Election, 2013: Hassan Rouhani Twelfth Presidential Election, 2017: Hassan Rouhani Conclusion	134 134 136 147 158
	Conclusion What Are the Implications for the Future?	160 163
Ap Bil Inc	ppendix: Presidential Elections in a Nutshell bliography dex	168 173 182